Dubai Metro Zones Expand from 4 to 7

In light of the opening of the green line of the Dubai Metro in the coming weeks, the zoning of public transport in Dubai has been changed to incorporate more zones. Currently there are 5 zones covering all the public transport areas but this will be increased to 7 with effect from 12 August 2011.

The main changes are in and around the central business districts and will impact the following stations:

  • Khalid bin al Waleed (Burjuman)
  • Karama
  • Jaffilia
  • World Trade Center
  • Emirates Towers
  • Financial Centre
  • Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall
  • Business Bay

If you use any of these stations you may be affected by a slight increase in your fare as you may now be travelling between more zones. These stations were previously in Zone 5, which has now been split into two zones and becomes zones 5 and 6.

I have tried to incorporate the new metro zones in the attached metro map but as usual it is quite difficult to get the precise information about the new zones from the RTA website as they have not posted it yet so I have used a few sources to build this map and hope it is correct.

Leave a Reply